Friends of Mineralogy Welcome
Pacific Northwest Chapter
Friends of Mineralogy
Friends of Mineralogy Logo

Noble Witt Award

The idea for an award to honor an FM member or "friend" of mineralogy originated with a long time member of the PNW chapter, Noble Witt.  The prestigious award soon became known as "The Noble Witt Award".

Nominations are called for each year from the membership to honor a person of the FM community that stands out as having made great contributions to the organization, to mineral science, and the mineral collecting hobby.

Nominations are received by the Chapter's Board of Directors and a recipient is selected from the nominees to receive the award and be honored at the Chapter's annual Symposium.

Recipients recognized to date:
  Year Awardee
  2016 Robert Woodside, PhD
  2015 Robert Meyer
  2013 Al and Sue Liebetrau, page 15
  2012 Allan Young
  2011 Lorna Goebel
Karen Hinderman
  2010 Wes Gannaway
  2007 Bill Dameron
  2004 Lanny Ream
  2003 Sharleen Harvey
  2002 John Lindell
  2001 Harvey Gordon
  2000 Rudy Tschernich
  1999 Bob Boggs
  1998 Arlene Handley
  1997 Richard Rice and
Helen Rice
  1996 Ray Lasmanis and
Cheryl Burchim
  1995 Norm Steele
  1994 Bob Smith
  1993 Mike Groben

Each recipient receives a plaque of recognition and their name and the date is placed on a permanent plaque that hangs in the Northwest Minerals Gallery at the Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals.

PNW-FM Site Links
Membership Application
Site Map
email us

Home Page | | Contacts | | Symposium | | Activities | | History | | Links | | Membership Application | | Newsletters | | Site Map | | email us |
Copyright PNW-FM 2004-2014 Send submissions to the Webmaster Last Update January 2014